Participants in the 2012 Angry Birds Challenge

The competition was announced five weeks in advance, so participants had only a very short time to familiarize themselves with the provided Angry Birds software, to set up a team, and to develop their own agents. Despite the short preparation time, 16 registrations were received from many different countries. In the end only eight registered participants submitted agents for the competition.

  • Team CU (Steven Schockaert, Jonathan Quinn), Cardiff University, Cardiff, UK.
  • Team FEI2 (Leonardo Anjoletto Ferreira, Guilherme A. W. Lopes), Centro Universitario da FEI, Sao Paulo, Brazil.
  • Team RedBacks (John Thangarajah, Fabio Zambetta, Sean Dawson, Bill Kalominidis, Hung Ma), RMIT University, Melbourne, Australia.
  • Team ABC-IS-course-UNICAL (Francesco Calimeri, Stefano Germano, Giovambattista Ianni, and 2012/2013 Intelligent Systems Course students), University of Calabria, Italy
  • Team ABC-AI-UNICAL (ABC-IS-course-UNICAL team members plus Michael Fink, Christoph Redl, and Peter Schüller), University of Calabria, Italy; Vienna University of Technology, Austria; and Sabanci University, Turkey.
  • Team Zonino (Felix Andrews), ATO, Canberra Australia.
  • Team Dan (Peng Zhang), ANU, Canberra, Australia.
  • Team Birdbrain (Jim Keys, Sahan Abeyasinghe) ANU, Canberra, Australia.

Team Birdbrain was the only team that made use of the unlimited track.